Umaru Musa Yar’Adua 
Federal Republic of Nigeria

Goodluck Ebele Jonathan
Vice President
Federal Republic of Nigeria

Under the Presidential System, the President who is also the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces is vested with executive powers under the Constitution of the Federal Republic. The President and his Ministers form the Federal Executive Council with the President as the Chairman. A similar structure exists in the States where the Governor and his Commissioners form the State Executive Councils.

The Executive initiates policies and programs of the government and ensures that they are implemented after they had been passed into the law by the Legislature. The success or failure of any government depends largely on the incumbent President who combines the roles of the Chief Executive with those of the ceremonial Head of State.

In accordance with the concept of separation of powers, the President is excluded from membership of both Houses of the National Assembly. He is elected separately by the Nigerian voters. Under the Nigerian Presidential System, the President is the Head of State as well as the Head of Government. He is the symbol of national unity. He can not be removed from office except by death, impeachment or resignation.

Despite his wide ranging power, the President has restrictions which include ratification of all his major appointments by the National assembly. Though he is empowered to conduct foreign affairs, all treaties require the ratification of the Senate. Besides, only the National Assembly can declare war and peace. While he appoints members of the Judiciary that is (the Judges), he cannot remove them.